Summer Running Sucks

Should you even be running in the heat?

Stacey Curran
3 min readJun 8, 2021
Photo by Jefferson Sees on Unsplash

At 6:43 am this morning, it was already above 80 degrees Fahrenheit, the humidity was at 60% and the dew point was at 71. The running feature on the Weather Channel app advised that conditions were “tough,” and not looking any better until tomorrow night at 7 pm.

I went for a run anyway.

But I carefully consider whether it is safe to do so each time this weather hits. I am a freckle-covered, medically overweight runner who has had enough benign skin cancer removed to suspect there is a clone of me in a lab somewhere. I wilt in these conditions just from the blaze of the sun. So as treacherous as some winter running can be, summer running is worse for me. But as runners know, not running can be worst of all.

So I wear a visor, go early, carry a water in my running belt, and stay close to my house. I run a mile, and evaluate. I usually head home, satisfied with the two-miles-is-better-than-no miles mindset. I walk as necessary and try to stay in the shade. I carry my phone in case I need help.

And this might all work for you, too. But it might not.

So, should you run in the heat?

It depends on many factors. If you live in a consistently hot area, you may be used to these conditions. If you…

--

--

Stacey Curran

Former journalist; few N.E. Press Assoc. Awards, few Boston Globe Magazine essays, @TheBelladonnaComedy @Slackjaw @BostonAccent, @WBUR, grocery lists.